Webcasts
2022-02-10
50:45 min
certificate-image
Content presented by Steven Budsberg, DVM, MS, Dipl. ACVS | Beatriz Monteiro, DVM, PhD, PgDip
This webcast is presented as part of our new series on canine osteoarthritis addressing pathogenesis, disease awareness, canine and owner quality of life, and osteoarthritis management, including new developments. What happens in osteoarthritic joints and how does that impact the progression of the disease? In this webcast, Dr. Steven Budsberg unravels the complex nature of osteoarthritis: Learn about mechanical stresses on the joint, how they cause joint inflammation and why this leads to...
2021-12-07
01:00:31 min
certificate-image
Content presented by Rebecca L. Stepien, DVM, MS, Dipl. ACVIM (cardiology)
During this webcast, cardiology specialist, Dr. Rebecca L. Stepien will cover the identification and staging of heart disease in cats, including the diagnosis and treatment of preclinical heart disease and congestive heart failure. In conjunction with the most current recommendations of the ACVIM consensus guidelines for the classification, diagnosis, and management of cardiomyopathy in cats, she will also discuss the use of the following assessments: physical assessment;non-echocardiographic...
2021-11-17
01:02:16 min
certificate-image
Content presented by Sonya G. Gordon, BS, DVM, DVSc, Dipl. ACVIM (cardiology)
During this webcast, cardiology specialist and professor, Dr. Sonya G. Gordon will provide a quick overview of the ACVIM consensus guidelines for the diagnosis and treatment of myxomatous mitral valve disease in dogs. She will also delve into some important questions regarding the following topics: diagnosing the various ACVIM stages of canine heart disease and failure with a focus on Stage B2;the current recommended treatment for the various ACVIM stages of mitral valve disease;what are...
2021-07-27
01:00:32 min
certificate-image
Content presented by Andrew S. Peregrine, BVMS, PhD, DVM, Dipl. EVPC, Dipl. ACVM
In Canada, Echinococcus multilocularis had never been reported in a dog before 2009. There have since been multiple cases of alveolar echinococcosis in dogs throughout the country. In this presentation, parasitology specialist Dr. Andrew S. Peregrine will provide a summary of these canines cases, as well as of human cases reported over the same period. He will also discuss strategies to reduce the risk of infection in dogs and people.
2021-06-29
59:21 min
certificate-image
Content presented by Andrew S. Peregrine, BVMS, PhD, DVM, Dipl. EVPC, Dipl. ACVM
In this presentation, parasitology specialist Dr. Andrew Peregrine will review the most current information available on the risk of ticks and tick-borne diseases in companion animals across Canada, as well as the recommendations from the 2018 ACVIM consensus statement on Lyme disease in dogs and cats, including: the utility of routine screening;the management of seropositive animals;prevention strategies.
2020-10-23
certificate-image
Content presented by Bryan Torres, DVM, PhD, Dipl. ACVS (small animal), Dipl. ACVSMR
Watch this video presentation to learn how to: Recognize the impact of appropriate OA management in veterinary patientsImplement practical OA treatment strategies Understand the current OA therapies available to veterinariansWatch the video, read the complementary text and complete the CE quiz to obtain a certificate for a one-hour CE credit.
2020-09-24
certificate-image
Content presented by Richard Ford, DVM, MSc, Dipl. ACVIM, Dipl. ACVPM (Hons)
This webcast is part of the VaxTalk Thursdays Live Webcast Series Take advantage of this rare opportunity to “talk vaccination” with this internationally-renowned veterinary specialist, lead editor of the AAHA Canine Vaccine Guidelines and co-author of the AAFP Feline Vaccine Guidelines! This presentation provides new insights on maternally-derived antibody interference, genetic factors surrounding patient response to vaccination, the ‘overdue’ patient, vaccine storage and handling issues...
2020-09-17
certificate-image
Content presented by Richard Ford, DVM, MSc, Dipl. ACVIM, Dipl. ACVPM (Hons)
This webcast is part of the VaxTalk Thursdays Live Webcast Series Take advantage of this rare opportunity to “talk vaccination” with this internationally-renowned veterinary specialist, lead editor of the AAHA Canine Vaccine Guidelines and co-author of the AAFP Feline Vaccine Guidelines! This presentation on canine Lyme disease provides insight into critical risk factors unique to Canada, diagnostic considerations (and controversy), the role of co-infection in patient outcomes and management,...
2020-09-10
certificate-image
Content presented by Richard Ford, DVM, MSc, Dipl. ACVIM, Dipl. ACVPM (Hons)
This webcast is part of the VaxTalk Thursdays Live Webcast Series Take advantage of this rare opportunity to “talk vaccination” with this internationally-renowned veterinary specialist, lead editor of the AAHA Canine Vaccine Guidelines and co-author of the AAFP Feline Vaccine Guidelines! This presentation offers a succinct review of critical factors surrounding diagnosis and prevention of leptospirosis, zoonotic potential of leptospirosis in dogs, and controversial topics surrounding...

Webdiffusions
2022-02-10
50:45 min
certificate-image
Contenu présenté par Steven Budsberg, D.M.V., M.S., Dipl. ACVS | Beatriz Monteiro, D.M.V., Ph. D., D.E.S.
Cette webdiffusion est présentée dans le cadre d’une nouvelle série sur l’ostéoarthrose canine qui abordera la pathogenèse, la sensibilisation à la maladie, la qualité de vie du chien et de son propriétaire, ainsi que la prise en charge de l'ostéoarthrose, dont les nouveaux développements en la matière. Que se passe-t-il dans les articulations arthrosiques et quel en est l’effet sur la progression de la maladie? Dans le cadre de cette webdiffusion, le Dr Steven Budsberg lève le voile sur la...
2021-12-07
01:00:31 min
certificate-image
Contenu présenté par Rebecca L. Stepien, D.M.V., M.S., Dipl. ACVIM (cardiologie)
Au cours de cette webdiffusion, la Dre R ebecca L . S tepien, spécialiste en cardiologie, se penchera sur l’identification et la présentation des maladies cardiaques chez les chats, y compris le diagnostic et le traitement de maladies cardiaques précliniques et de l’insuffisance cardiaque congestive. En lien avec les plus récentes recommandations présentées dans les lignes directrices de l’ACVIM concernant la classification, le diagnostic et la gestion de la cardiomyopathie chez les chats,...
2021-11-17
01:02:16 min
certificate-image
Contenu présenté par Sonya G. Gordon, D.M.V., D.V.Sc., Dipl. ACVIM (cardiologie)
Au cours de cette webdiffusion, la Dre Sonya G. Gordon, spécialiste et professeure de cardiologie, donnera un aperçu des lignes directrices de l’ACVIM pour le diagnostic et le traitement de la maladie myxomateuse de la valve mitrale chez le chien. Elle répondra également à des questions importantes sur les sujets suivants : le diagnostic des différents stades de l’ACVIM de la cardiopathie et de l’insuffisance cardiaque canines, avec un accent mis sur le stade B2;le traitement actuellement...
2021-07-27
01:00:32 min
certificate-image
Contenu présenté par Andrew S. Peregrine, B. Sc. V., Ph. D., D.M.V., Dipl. EVPC, Dipl. ACVM
Au Canada, le premier cas d’Echinococcus multilocularis chez un chien a été signalé en 2009. Depuis, de multiples cas d’échinococcose alvéolaire ont été recensés chez des chiens partout au pays. Dans le cadre de cette webdiffusion, le Dr Andrew Peregrine, spécialiste en parasitologie, présentera un résumé de ces cas canins, en plus de discuter de cas observés chez les humains signalés au cours de la même période. Il proposera aussi des stratégies visant à réduire le risque d’infection chez les...
2021-06-29
59:21 min
certificate-image
Contenu présenté par Andrew S. Peregrine, B. Sc. V., Ph. D., D.M.V., Dipl. EVPC, Dipl. ACVM
Dans cette présentation, le Dr Andrew Peregrine examinera les informations les plus récentes disponibles sur le risque de tiques et de maladies transmises par les tiques chez les animaux de compagnie au Canada. Il abordera aussi les recommandations présentées dans la déclaration consensuelle de 2018 de l’ACVIM sur la maladie de Lyme chez les chiens et les chats, notamment : l’utilité du dépistage systématique;la gestion des animaux séropositifs;les stratégies de prévention.
2020-10-23
certificate-image
Contenu présenté par Bryan Torres, D.M.V., Ph. D., Dipl. ACVS - petits animaux, Dipl. ACVSMR
Visionnez cette présentation vidéo pour apprendre à : reconnaître les retombées d'une prise en charge adéquate de l'OA sur les patients;comprendre les traitements de l'OA qui sont actuellement accessibles aux médecins vétérinaires;mettre en pratique des stratégies concrètes pour traiter l'OA.Visionnez cette vidéo, lisez le texte complémentaire, puis répondez au questionnaire de formation continue pour obtenir une heure de formation continue.
2020-09-24
certificate-image
Contenu présenté par Richard Ford,  D.M.V., M.S., Dipl. ACVIM et Dipl. ACVPM (Hons)
Cette webdiffusion fait partie de la série Jeudis « Vaccauseries ». Profitez de cette rare occasion de pouvoir « parler vaccination » avec ce médecin vétérinaire spécialiste de renommée internationale, rédacteur en chef des AAHA Canine Vaccine Guidelines et coauteur des AAFP Feline Vaccine Guidelines! Cette présentation fournit de nouvelles informations sur : L’interférence des anticorps d’origine maternelle; Les facteurs génétiques entourant la réponse du patient à la vaccination; Les...
2020-09-17
certificate-image
Contenu présenté par Richard Ford,  D.M.V., M.S., Dipl. ACVIM et Dipl. ACVPM (Hons)
Cette webdiffusion fait partie de la série Jeudis « Vaccauseries ». Profitez de cette rare occasion de pouvoir « parler vaccination » avec ce médecin vétérinaire spécialiste de renommée internationale, rédacteur en chef des AAHA Canine Vaccine Guidelines et coauteur des AAFP Feline Vaccine Guidelines! Cette présentation sur la maladie de Lyme chez les chiens donne un aperçu : Des facteurs de risque critiques uniques au Canada;Des considérations diagnostiques (et controversées);Du rôle de la...
2020-09-10
certificate-image
Contenu présenté par Richard Ford,  D.M.V., M.S., Dipl. ACVIM et Dipl. ACVPM (Hons)
Cette webdiffusion fait partie de la série Jeudis « Vaccauseries ». Profitez de cette rare occasion de pouvoir « parler vaccination » avec ce médecin vétérinaire spécialiste de renommée internationale, rédacteur en chef des AAHA Canine Vaccine Guidelines et coauteur des AAFP Feline Vaccine Guidelines! Cette présentation offre une revue succincte : Des facteurs critiques entourant le diagnostic et la prévention de la leptospirose; Du potentiel zoonotique de la leptospirose chez les chiens; Des...